Star Wars Picture Frame

My Secret Santa this year is a huge star wars fan. Since I already bought her something else, and I wanted to keep everything under budget, I decided to make this.

IMG_3511IMG_3512

A Star Wars picture frame. Operation is simple: it works like a night light. When the photoresistor receives less light, the LEDs glow brighter. So it acts as a nightlight at night, and can be turned on by just covering up the photoresistor at any time.

This can be built quickly, cheaply, and I didn’t have to buy anything since I had this kind of stuff laying around.

Parts:

  • Green LED
  • Blue LED
  • Resistors (values:
  • NPN Transistor (2N2222 was used)
  • 9V battery and holder
  • Picture frame
  • Drinking straw
  • Wire

Tools:

  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Soldering Iron

Build:

Prototype the following circuit to make sure everything works.

IMG_3510

IMG_3504

I based the circuit on a basic not gate (pic for reference).

20131206-095935.jpg

Now that the LEDs light up when you turn the lights around it off, it’s time to solder it all together.

IMG_3506IMG_3507

Attach the circuit to the frame.

IMG_3513

Wrap and give away. Merry Christmas 😀

Here’s a video of the build. As you can see, I was definitely riding the struggle bus. I didn’t have the right resistors on hand so I tried a bunch of equivalent resistor calculations and ended up giving up and stealing some from another lab. I also saw that the AA’s I was using were going to be too big for the back of a frame, so I went with a 9V. If I were to do the whole thing again I could probably do it in about in hour. You learn more from failures anyway, right?

Leave a Reply

