Tina’s Sign

My sister Tina’s birthday is in a couple days so I thought I would make something for her.

IMG_2129

It’s pretty simple, just a sign made of cardboard, duct tape, hot glue, and LEDs.

IMG_2112 IMG_2113 IMG_2114

I cut out a piece of cardboard (it’s weird cardboard, almost wood. I forget the name for it), and wrote my sisters name backwards (since this is the back, and I want it to be forwards on the front!)

IMG_2116 IMG_2117 IMG_2118

Then I drilled two holes for place I wanted an LED.

IMG_2119 IMG_2120

Covered the front in decorative duct tape. She likes pink and I thought the checkerboard design would give it some flair.

IMG_2121 IMG_2122

I re-poked the wholes with what I like to call pointy thing (it’s actually a soldering assist tool).

IMG_2124IMG_2125

I then placed the LED leads in their respective wholes and bent the LEDs 90 degrees so they face each-other.

IMG_2126

Then I actually soldered the LEDs together. I decided to power the device from four AA’s (since I had a 4 AA holder sitting around). Since that is 6V, and each LED needs about 3 volts, I wired two LEDs in series (whichever LEDs were facing each other) and then wired all of those sets of two in parallel. Here’s a video of me doing all of the soldering and gluing (and yes, I do move that fast in real life).

As for the method where I use hot glue to, here’s a video of me doing part of the T.

IMG_2128

Finally I added the battery holder and a slide switched and glued it all on there. Looks pretty neat in the dark. Hope she likes it!

IMG_2130

Leave a Reply

